Commissions Committees and Boards

  1. Planning Commission
  2. Code and Planning Committee
  3. Creek Street Historic Board


The Borough Planning Commission is authorized and directed to perform the duties and exercise the powers conferred upon said commission by the ordinances of the borough and the laws of the state. It shall be the duty of the Planning Commission to prepare, from time to time, plans for the systematic development and betterment of the entire borough as a place of residence and for business.


The Planning Commission meets regularly on the second Tuesday of each month with the ability to meet on the fourth Tuesday of the month as needed. The filing deadline for a Planning Commission meeting is the Friday after the previous month's meeting.

Planning Commission Rules of Procedure (PDF)


Decisions of the Planning Commission/Platting Board may be appealed within 15 days of the date of decision. Conditional use permits and variances may be appealed to the Board of Adjustment (Borough Assembly). Subdivision approvals may be appealed to Superior Court. Specific questions on appeals may be directed to the Department of Planning and Community Development.

Notification List

Click on the link below to subscribe to the Planning Commission list service. This list service provides notifications of meetings, publishing of dockets and packets, and notifications of Assembly meetings regarding Planning Commission cases that require review of the Borough Assembly.

Planning Commission List Service

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Appointment Process

The members of the Planning Commission are appointed by the Borough Mayor, subject to confirmation by the Assembly. The Planning Commission consists of 7 members: 4 who reside within the Ketchikan city limits, and 3 who reside in the Borough outside the Ketchikan City limits. Appointments to City seats on the commission are recommended by the Ketchikan City Council. Annual appointments are made the first Assembly meeting in March. Chapter 2.40 KGBC Planning Commission


Applications for appointment are being accepted at the Office of the Borough Clerk to fill one Planning Commission position for a member who resides within the Borough, but outside the corporate limits of the City of Ketchikan; and two Planning Commission positions for members who reside within the Borough, and inside the corporate limits of the City of Ketchikan.

The terms of office for the member residing outside the corporate limits of the City of Ketchikan will begin March 2020 and end March 2023. The terms of office for the members residing within the corporate limits of the city of Ketchikan will begin March 2020 and end March 2023 for one member. The recently vacated "City Seat" will have a term of office which begins in March 2020 and ends in March 2022.

The Borough Clerk is accepting applications until 5:00 p.m. on Friday, January 10, 2020. Applicants must include a declaration of candidacy on a form provided by the Borough Clerk; a personal resume; and a statement of qualification and interest.

AS 39.50 requires Commissioners to file a Public Official Financial Disclosure Statement within thirty (30) days after taking office.

Declaration of Candidacy-Residing Inside City Limits (PDF)

Declaration of Candidacy-Residing Outside City Limits (PDF)

Additional Information and forms are available from the Office of the Borough Clerk:
1900 First Avenue Ste 115, Ketchikan, Alaska

Phone: 907.228.6605


PictureMemberPositionTerm Ends
Sharli cropSharli ArntzenCommission Chair
Rural Seat
March 1, 2021

Vacant Vice Chair
Rural Seat
March 1, 2020
Joe MainardiJoseph MainardiiRural SeatMarch 1, 2021
Jacquie MeckJacquie MeckCity SeatMarch 1, 2021
Mike MedfordMichael MedfordCity SeatMarch 1, 2020
David DealDavid DealCity SeatMarch 1, 2022

VacantCity SeatMarch 1, 2022